Three-Zero

Sorry, it’s time for a bit of random rambling on this blog.

It’s the first time I’m writing something personal. Does it have to do with the fact that I turned 30 today? Maybe. Maybe not. I never understood people’s fascination with age. As the cliche goes – it’s just a number. As a child, I never thought I’d cross 20-25. I used to think that my parents and grandparents were already old. I’ve wanted to remain a child all my life.

That’s why I’ve heard from people that mentally I’m 18. 15, even. I guess that’s true. They say by the time you’re 30, you’re supposed to take on big responsibilities and forget about the ‘frivolous’ things in life. Who defines what’s frivolous and what’s not? I’m still into action figures. I’m still into comics. I love a good novel. One of my all-time favourites is Neil Gaiman’s ‘The Graveyard Book’, which is essentially meant for a 10-year old. So are these frivolous? I couldn’t imagine a life without them. I believe there’s a little thread of childhood that we must carry throughout our lives. The only sane way to live in an insane world, is to think like a child at the most critical moments – they are free of the shackles that make us adults conform to a certain standard in society. I love my sport too – cricket, football, tennis, the works. The title of this blog is a testimony to that fact.

There’s a lot I have to learn. I still can’t do my taxes to save my life. Mutual funds, investments confuse me. I’m not bad with money, but I do not know how to manage it optimally. I still can’t drive a car or ride a two-wheeler – a fact most people find surprising. Maybe it is. I’m ‘already 30’, right? I’ve just never had the confidence to do either, sadly. Someday I will.

People. An essential part of my life. I’ve met a lot of people in this 30-year journey, and while this may sound like an exaggeration, each and every one of them have shaped me into the person I am today. From my parents, to my relatives, to my friends – they’ve put in little drops of wisdom that has shaped the ocean of wisdom, in which I have stayed afloat. So thank you, everyone. I look forward to adding to this list as I move on in life.

I’m a guy who takes life as it comes. I’m not even sure of what’s going to happen tomorrow. The only thing I’m really sure of in this life is that I love writing. And that love will never diminish, no matter how old I get.

So, here’s looking forward to the next Three-Zero! Hope you all will be there with me.

One thought on “Three-Zero

Leave a Reply

