Bollywood’s Best Twenty Twelve – Part 3 – The Cast and Crew of the Year

Actor of the year

I think I have repeated his name a LOT, but I’ll say it once again – Nawazuddin Siddiqui. Just scroll up and look at the movies he’s done this year – Gangs of Wasseypur, Kahaani, Paan Singh Tomar and Talaash.

Second and third places go to Irrfan Khan and Manoj Bajpai, for obvious reasons.

A consolation 4th place goes to Ranbir Kapoor for a brilliant performance as the lovable Barfi.

His dad, Rishi Kapoor, comes in at 5th place for Agneepath.

Actress of the year

Vidya Balan, by the narrowest of margins.

Coming in at a close second place is Priyanka Chopra, for her portrayal of an autistic girl in Barfi.

Third place goes to the entire female cast of Gangs of Wasseypur – Richa Chaddha, Reema Sen and Huma Qureshi.

At 4th place we have Rani Mukherjee for playing a distressed wife and mother in Talaash. Although her role was limited, she was excellent.

Kareena Kapoor just squeezes in at No. 5 for doing a good job in Talaash and Heroine. But Agent Vinod was painful, and so was she to some extent.

Director of the Year
Director of the Year

Director of the year: Simple. Look at the list of the top 5 movies, and you have your directors of the year – Anurag Kashyap (undisputed No. 1), Tigmanshu Dhulia, Sujoy Ghosh, Dibakar Banerjee, Reema Kagti and Anurag Basu.

Music Director of the Year
Music Director of the Year

Music Director of the year: Tough call, but I would go for 3 names – Sneha Khanwalkar (Gangs of Wasseypur), Ram Sampath (Talaash) and Pritam (Barfi). Vishal and Shekhar too make the list for Kahaani.

I am thoroughly distraught that I cannot add AR Rahman to this year’s list. He is generally an automatic selection almost every year. Not this time. Jab Tak Hai Jaan was disappointing in terms of music. And from the reviews I hear from other people, even the movie was not that great. It is sad that most people’s final memory of Yash Chopra had to be this. But it’s okay, the greatest are allowed their mistakes.

 

What did I miss? Ah, a lot actually. I haven’t seen English Vinglish, Oh My God (OMG), Vicky Donor and some others. I know, I know, a couple of these MIGHT have made my list. But no problem, I will watch them on TV whenever they’re aired.

 

Looking forward to in 2013: Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola, Special 26, Bhaag Milkha Bhaag and Besharam, from the trailers and posters I have seen so far. I hope there are more such gems in the coming year. Till 2013, then, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “Bollywood’s Best Twenty Twelve – Part 3 – The Cast and Crew of the Year

Leave a Reply

