Bollywoods Best Twenty Twelve – Part 2 – Honourable Mentions and Turkeys

Honourable mentions 

Sometimes, when there are only 2 prizes in a fancy dress competition, the third-best dressed participant gets a ‘consolation’ prize. This is something of the sort. These were movies that were good, no doubt, but didn’t have enough in them to make the top five. They are –

Agneepath

Edge-of-the-seat action drove this one. But it wasn’t Hrithik Roshan or Sanjay Dutt who stole the show. The man who had eye-popping screen presence and delivered a devilishly delicious performance was none other than Rishi Kapoor. Yes, the cherubic, lovable chocolate boy from the 70s through to the 90s was now a lecherous, menacing and unforgiving Don. Evil dripped like oil from the very pores of his skin. If you want to watch this movie, just watch it for Rishi Kapoor. His performance alone is worth the price of your ticket. Or DVD.

Ferrari Ki Sawaari

Remember I said Barfi was ‘one of the two feel-good movies of the year’? Well, this is the other one. Sharman Joshi once again stands out as the ultra-honest do-gooder Rusy, who loves his son Kayo (played very well by Ritvik Sahore) more than anything else in the world. To add to it, cricket plays a central role in the movie (in more ways than one). Boman Irani plays the cricket-hating, caustic grandfather who has seen the worst of life. Only Vidya Balan’s ‘item’ number was a wee-bit off-putting. Even the support cast, especially the driver of a ‘particular’ gentleman and the watchman of a ‘particular’ building, were hilarious and ensured we had a smile on our faces almost throughout.

The Loveable Turkey 

Sometimes, movies are so silly, they’re actually quite funny. Bol Bachchan falls in this category. To quote a cliché, this is a ‘leave-your-brains-behind’ type of movie. Seeing that it’s been ‘inspired’ by a comedy classic ‘Golmaal’, you wonder how that can be true. But it is. Ajay Devgn’s (yes, not Devegan or Devagan any more) Hindi-to-English translations are alone enough to keep you going. Also, Krishna (from Comedy Circus) pulls off a nice comic side-act, while the women (Asin and Prachi Desai) are nothing more than eye candy in this movie. However, it did make me laugh, and I guess that’s what matters in the end. Also, to quote a line I overheard in an interview (I forget who said this) “these movies are important, because they make enough money, which allows the ‘experimental’ filmmakers to make their kind of movies, the good kind”. There must be a better business model in Bollywood, but until we discover that, these movies will flourish. And so they should, it seems!

The ‘Gone-Bad’ Turkeys 

Heroine

Not heroines in general, but the stereotypical, over-long and totally ambiguous farce of a movie that was made by Madhur Bhandarkar. I’m not going to even discuss it much, but will tell one thing – there is no saving grace, but a shining light in this movie is Kareena Kapoor. She’s the only one who put her heart and soul into this… movie (for lack of a better word). You can’t blame the other actors too much, though – they’ve been given poorly written, over-the-top and blatantly stereotyped roles. This is a candidate for the five worst movies of 2012.

Agent Vinod

A director like Sriram Raghavan had the opportunity to give India its very own super spy. However, Agent Vinod turned out to be like the poorly conceived child of James Bond and Jason Bourne (don’t ask me how THAT came to my mind). It’s only saving grace? It was MILES ahead of Heroine as a movie.

That’s Part 2 done. Part 3 will showcase the best actors, actresses, music directors and the movies I missed. And oh, also what I’m looking forward to in 2013.  To be continued… (again)

7 thoughts on “Bollywoods Best Twenty Twelve – Part 2 – Honourable Mentions and Turkeys

  1. If I had to sum up the worst movies of 2012, my list would consist of just one epic disaster of a movie going by the name of ‘Raaz 3’. I simply dont understand the point of this movie. I rest my case there.

  2. I would have included Vicky Donor instead of Agent Vinod or Heroine. A bad film is a bad film. The credentials of the director do not matter.

    I haven’t seen English Vinglish, but heard that was decent too. So maybe you could include that in place of Bol Bachchan.

    1. Vicky Donor was bad? Wow! You are the first person to say so. I haven’t seen the movie, so I don’t know. I haven’t even seen English Vinglish. Bol Bachchan, well, I included it because it made me laugh. You can’t ignore Ajay Devgn’s attempt at converting Hindi to English. 😛

      1. Sorry. My bad. I read re-read the article. I earlier misunderstood what you wrote.
        Vicky Donor was great. I enjoyed it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

